ISPA honors Carman, Herman for service to bedding industry

Joseph Carman, president of Spring Air West, and the late Andrea Herman were honored with awards for outstanding service to the bedding industry during the International Sleep Product Association’s Expo 2004 Industry Breakfast in Indianapolis, Ind., on March 26.

Carman was presented with the Russell L. Abolt Award for Exceptional Service for exemplifying to his peers the highest level of professional devotion to the betterment of the bedding industry. In presenting the award, Richard Diamonstein, executive vice president of King Koil and immediate past chairman of ISPA’s board, said Carman has demonstrated extraordinary personal integrity, dedication to service, devotion to duty and uncommon perseverance within his community, industry, trade association and business.

Carman served as an ISPA board member for seven years and two consecutive terms as board chairman. At one time or another, Carman has led virtually every ISPA committee and, as chairman of the Strategic Planning Committee, was instrumental in developing ISPA’s strategic plan.

“The direction, guidance and leadership he provided as Strategic Planning chairman was invaluable to both the rest of the Strategic Planning Committee and, ultimately, to all of our members with the resulting product,” Diamonstein said.

Carman represents the third generation of his family to be a part of the bedding industry and is a past chairman and current member of Spring Air’s board.

The Robert MacMorran Memorial Award was presented posthumously to Andrea Herman, who died in September 2002 after a battle with leukemia. At the time of her death, Herman was vice president of communications for ISPA and executive director of the Better Sleep Council, leading the industry’s consumer awareness program. She helped to launch Sleep Savvy magazine and worked with the BSC’s board to strengthen the bedding industry’s consumer outreach efforts. The award is given by ISPA’s Suppliers Council and was accepted by Herman’s family.

“Andrea embodied ISPA’s mission and had extraordinarily high standards in working to accomplish it. She approached her plans strategically, and she made all of her decisions for the good of the organization. Andrea took pride in her profession, and most importantly, she enjoyed what she did,” said Gerry Borreggine, Better Sleep Council chairman.

As an additional honor, ISPA, the BSC and several individuals have established the Andrea Herman (’80) Memorial Scholarship at her alma mater, Ithaca College. The scholarship will be awarded annually, beginning in the fall, to a journalism major with a demonstrated financial need.

Dick Doyle also recognized several companies that have long traditions of exhibiting at Expo. Blumenthal Print Works, Chicago Tape & Label and Tietex have shown their wares continually for 25 years, and Burlington House has participated in Expo repeatedly for 50 years.

“We thank them for their loyalty and cooperative spirit, and we recognize that the continuous dedication of companies like these makes possible the exceptional success and continued growth of ISPA’s Expo,” Doyle said.

Related Posts

ISPA Industry Conference dates set

The next International Sleep Products Association Conference will be...

ISPA announces prestigious bedding industry award recipients

NEWS RELEASE Gerry Borreggine & Bob Steelman Recognized for...

Slideshow: ISPA Industry Conference Golf Tournament

During ISPA Industry Conference 2019, golfers in the ISPA...

Coming Up: 2019 ISPA Industry Conference

The biennial ISPA Industry Conference, sponsored by the International...